Do you counquer your fears or yourself? Posiive Quote by Edmund Hillary

Positive Quote: “It is not the mountain we conquer but ourselves.” – Edmund Hillary

 

This quote reminds me of growing up in southern California. When I was about 9-10 years old, we lived in an apartment beside a canyon. To my young mind the canyon was huge and vast. I spent many a day afterschool climbing down and around it. Fast forward a few decades and I am taking my family to see where I grew up, the schools I went to, and other key places for me as a child… we see the canyon, except now to my adult eyes it seems smaller, not as deep or as large. Granted, it is still a canyon, yet seems tame compared to my memories as a child.

 

What does this have to do with the quote, you may be wondering. Well, it reminds me that perspective is everything. We are not conquering a mountain or even a canyon. It is not the external forces that can be where the fear lays yet the fear lies in us. Conquering our fear gets us to climb the mountains, go into those canyons, fly in those airplanes, or anything else that scares us.

 

Now I am not saying everyone should be fearless. An amount of fear can be healthy. I am saying that when we sense ourselves becoming hesitant or just flat out scared, we should ask ourselves why and see if the fear is actually us and not our external influences.

 

Some fears stay with us and can be managed but not removed. Every person has lived through life experiences that make them who they are today. Knowing what your triggers are can be most helpful in understanding that the mountain is not a mountain but a hill.

 

As you can see, this quote has me thinking.

 

What do you think of this quote?

 

Have a fabulous Friday.

Priscilla

Leave a Reply

