“I attribute my success to this; I never gave or took any excuse.” – Florence Nightingale

Positive Quote: “I attribute my success to this; I never gave or took any excuse.” – Florence Nightingale

 

I like this quote, it reinforces to me that it is better to look for solutions than excuses. It is one thing to locate an issue or a cause of something, yet it can’t stop there, finding the solution is the next step.

 

Sometimes this is hard as a leader. Things go wrong, stuff happens, yet a leader has to accept responsibility for what they can or should have controlled versus the blame assignment.

 

I can share an example of something that for me reinforces the point. Many years back I was challenged with the task of creating a new, formalized team who would be perform triage functions for a help desk environment. Now, the triage function was used, just not fully formalized, it rotated and rather than start from scratch we leveraged the model. I have team leaders (supervisors) who reported to me and they managed the hiring and training. Fast forward a bit in the future and the triage team was transferring over 90% of the calls to the Level 1-2 teams and not solving as much as we anticipated. We anticipated 25-35% could be solved at triage levels. It turns out the training was like making copies of tapes; (I am aging myself again). Imagine, if you make a copy of a copy and copy that copy say 10 times, you have degraded your quality. What we needed and should have done, was create formalized training with Q and A as well as documented, easy to follow step by step procedures. Then also reinforce by requiring continual training as new issues popped up and new solutions were found. Could I have blamed my team leaders? Yes. Did I? No. I accepted responsibility as their manager. I then worked with them and we made it right, so much so, the triage team was blowing away their goals and making a noticeable difference. The approach I took helped me succeed, in fact I was given more opportunities like that one to build new teams to create new support models, etc…

 

As you can tell this quote has resonated with me personally.

 

What do you think of this quote?

 

Have a fantastic Monday.

Priscilla

Leave a Reply

