“Change before you have to.” – Jack Welch

Positive Quote: “Change before you have to.” – Jack Welch

 

This quote reminds me of something I tell my team often. When it comes to metrics, reporting, knowing what to publish…. I tell them that I would rather invest on the front end building something that will answer the questions before they are asked versus having (waiting) for someone to tell me what and how to report and measure.

 

If you change before you have to, you are able to control your destiny more easily. If you are forced to change or directed to change, you may not have as much flexibility with things.

 

This also reminds me of the famous Wayne Gretzky quote, something like ‘Play where the puck is going to be and not where it is’…. in both cases, it is about being the driver of change; helping with the evolution of change.

 

I try to focus on the positive and know that change is a constant. I will embrace change and help define it and mold it as I am possible. To do otherwise, well, to me that is not the position I prefer to be in. I try to look ahead, to read up on my industry, to be aware of the changing tides and directions…this helps me know where the ‘puck’ is going to be.

 

What do you think of this quote?

 

Have a marvelous Thursday.

Priscilla

Leave a Reply

