“A good coach will make his players see what they can be rather than what they are.” – Ara Parseghian

Positive Quote: “A good coach will make his players see what they can be rather than what they are.” – Ara Parseghian

 

I am not a huge sports fan, yet I like this quote not because of who said it, but because of what it means to me, personally.

 

I grew up in a not so nice way; I have seen and lived through things I would never want to wish on anyone. Yet, I don’t let that define me. It took me many years, decades ago, to accept my past and be at peace with myself and who I am. Yet, what I am most thankful for is to those whose paths I have crossed over the years, who when they met me or worked with me or talked to me, they did not let my past, my education, my living circumstances, or any of that other ‘stuff’ that makes us who we are define me to them. They looked beyond that to what I could possibly do or ways I could push myself to be better, to grow. Their words and mentoring were priceless to me. I look back on my life and know that who I am today is in direct relation to those who helped mentor me along the way. I am thankful they saw in me who I could be versus what I was when they met me. I also know that who I am today is not who I will be in 5, 10, or 15 years. I will continue to learn, to grow, to be a better version of myself and hopefully, hopefully, I will help those I interact with see what they can be versus what they are. I will continue to strive to be a positive influence on others and mentor, coach, counsel, as it is vital for growth of both the mentor and the mentee.

 

As you can see, this quote strikes a chord in me.

 

What do you think of this quote?

 

Have a fabulous Friday.

 

Priscilla

 

Leave a Reply

