“Determination and perseverance move the world; thinking that others will do it for you is a sure way to fail.” —Marva Collins

Positive Quote: “Determination and perseverance move the world; thinking that others will do it for you is a sure way to fail.” —Marva Collins

 

This quote is a new one for me. Yet, something about it pulled me in. The words around ‘thinking others will do it for you’, when I look back on certain scenarios or certain situations where the end result was failure. I believe that ‘thinking others will do it for you’ could be a large part of the overall failure.

 

For example, say there is a generic email box that is monitored by a team. An email gets sent marked urgent and each person thinks the other person is going to grab the email and work it. End result, it doesn’t get worked and what was urgent is not handled appropriately. Now, the determination and perseverance piece would have helped this example be successful. It would have led to one or more people communicating with each other saying things like ‘I’m going to take care of that email’ or ‘Can you grab it as I am working on xyz’ or some other type of both communication and collaboration.

 

Or another example, say you are walking your dog in a local park and see a piece of trash on the grass. Do you walk by thinking someone else is going to pick it up or do you pick it up yourself and throw it away. Makes one wonder how so many parks, green areas, and roadways have oodles of litter. The park example, reminds me of a book I read many a year ago that I still share with people as it comes up. It was called ‘The Dog Poop Initiative’ by Kirk Weisler. Kirk is an amazing motivational speaker I have had the chance to hear on several occasions. The concept of the book is simple, What do you do when you see something that needs to be done or taken care of? I would recommend this book as a very quick read, with a story in fable format that makes a huge impact.

 

This quote has me wondering if I have anything where I am expecting someone else to do it versus taking the initiative to help move, at least my world.

 

What do you think of this quote?

 

Have a phenomenal Wednesday.

 

Priscilla

Leave a Reply

