“The key to wisdom is this – constant and frequent questioning, for by doubting we are led to question, by questioning we arrive at the truth.” – Peter Abelard

Positive Quote: “The key to wisdom is this – constant and frequent questioning, for by doubting we are led to question, by questioning we arrive at the truth.” – Peter Abelard

Wisdom and questioning, yes, I do believe they go hand in hand to a certain extent. I believe it depends on what you are learning and what you are questioning. It also depends on your motive for asking. Do you question because you truly want to understand and learn or for another reason?

 

I know I will never be an astronaut, a fire fighter, a ballerina, an Olympic athlete, or many other things. Yet, I do know what I am good at, where my strengths are, and by building on my strengths by questioning and learning, I (hopefully) gain wisdom. That wisdom will become circular, and continue to evolve and grow. Yet, I do believe another key component of wisdom is teaching; teaching others what we know, what we have learned, and to help them question, learn, and grow.

 

I don’t have all the answers, I am not an expert, yet, the one thing I consistently strive to do, is to seek to understand and find the experts, find the people who have answers and seek. This has served me well in my career, as I tend to not give up easily. I tackle projects like a puzzle, where I know what the end result needs to look like, now I have to jump in and decide where to start, and then follow it through. If I hit a dead end or can’t seem to make progress, I step away and come back focused on another area of the puzzle (project) and see if that makes inroads to connect across. In my experience, sometimes you have to try different methods to achieve a goal.

 

This reminds me of a book that I leverage consistently for growth, both mine and others. It is called FYI, For Your Improvement by Korn Ferry. It is not a book you read cover to cover. It is organized primarily by competencies and once you locate the competency you either want to further strengthen or build strength in it, it provides insight on ways you could focus on that area and remedies you can try to use to build on that specific competency. It also recommends example stretch goals to further build practical experience on that competency. It then includes specific suggested reading around the competency that is not general and more targeted. I have had the book for years and I have not read it cover to cover, it is a targeted style approach which speaks to me as it also ties to Situational Leadership methodologies.

 

One must question to gain wisdom, yet not question just to question.

 

What do you think of this quote?

 

Have a phenomenal Friday.

 

Priscilla

Leave a Reply

