The two Cs: Concentration and Composure

Positive Quote: “Every great player has learned the two Cs: How to concentrate and how to maintain composure.” – Byron Nelson

 

The words, concentration and composure appear fairly straightforward, yet they are not the easiest to achieve or maintain.

 

For me, it is about finding your inner calm space, finding a point of reference that is your idea of a super, horrific bad day and everything else, well that is not, so it becomes easier to be calm, to be composed, to concentrate.

 

This quote reminds me of a time, back many a year ago, where I was interviewing for a team manager position in an IT help desk environment. I had prior managerial experience in the same company, yet on the retail store side. I’ll be the first to admit that managing retail staff is a whole different story than managing IT technical staff. I digress, well, I knew my interviewers, I worked with them day in and day out and they knew me, both my strengths and my areas of opportunity. Unbeknownst to me, they wanted to ruffle me and get me off kilter during the interview process and wanted to see if I could maintain composure, if I could concentrate. They threw some very outlandish questions at me and some that I could have found as insulting. However, throughout it all I was calm and did not go down the path of emotion or loss of control. Looking back on it, I don’t know why it was how it was, perhaps it was the culture. If I got the position (which I did) I would be the only female manager in the IT help desk, where more than 80% of the employees and contractors were male. It was a different time and era back then.

 

One of my friends and mentor at that company once told me that whoever lost their cool first lost, no matter how right about something they were. I have seen this to be true, not only in the workplace, but in life overall.

 

As you can tell, this quote echoes for me.

 

What do you think of this quote?

 

Have a terrific Tuesday.

 

Priscilla

 

One thought on “The two Cs: Concentration and Composure

  1. ​hahahahahaha

    sounds familiar​

    On Tue, Jan 26, 2016 at 6:54 AM, PriscillaAJacks wrote:

    > priscillaajacks posted: “Positive Quote: “Every great player has learned > the two Cs: How to concentrate and how to maintain composure.” – Byron > Nelson The words, concentration and composure appear fairly > straightforward, yet they are not the easiest to achieve or maintain. ” >

    Like

Leave a Reply

