“It’s taken me all my life to learn what not to play.” – Dizzy Gillespie

Positive Quote: “It’s taken me all my life to learn what not to play.” – Dizzy Gillespie

 

I love this quote. It resonates with me. I spent a large portion of my early life, think first quarter of a century and a little more, thinking I couldn’t do things or that I could and failing at them. I didn’t know myself very well and was finding out who I was and what I was good at versus not so good.

 

What I learned along the way, is that if I am doing something that captures my attention that I am drawn towards, that I enjoy, that I have strengths towards, and I am in an environment that stimulates this…I can and will be successful. I am then intrinsically motivated.

 

It took quite a bit of failure to learn what I should not be doing. It does not mean I can’t do it, it means it may not be the thing for me. For example: I used to manage developers for different platforms. While, I understand the concepts of coding and can understand the basics, I would not be a successful coder. It is not what I am best at and does not engage all of my skills or strengths. I learned this and knowing this about myself helps guide me down the paths I should go on, narrowing them down, to avoid the side trips.

 

I would also recommend seeking feedback, perhaps one thinks they are good at something, yet, to others they are not quite at the expert level.

 

What do you think of this quote?

 

Have a fantastic Wednesday.

 

Priscilla

 

Leave a Reply

