Three Prince Quotes that Inspire Me

I could not decide on one quote today.

 

Yesterday it was all over the news about the death of Prince. Whether you are a fan or not, no one can dispute his impact on different generations…he was talented and unique. So, for today I chose three of my favorite Prince quotes.

 

My top favorite: “Despite everything, no one can dictate who you are to other people”. This was from a Rolling Stone interview. This quote resonated with me because I have times in my life where I have feelings of doubt based on my past and things I went through as a child. One of my life goals is to be a person I can be proud of and break the cycle of my past. I remind myself that I am in charge of my destiny and I am the one who makes choices for my life, good or bad.

 

Another quote I really like is “Compassion is an action word with no boundaries”. While this quote originated from the Vegetarian Times magazine in 1997, I prefer to apply it to life in general. I believe that without compassion there can be no growth, no development, and no improvement. Being compassionate is a choice and can be learned. Early on in my career, I was not compassionate, I focused only on myself. As I learned from others, from mentors, from experiences, I learned compassion for others. The world is more than oneself.

 

The final quote I am listing is “Everyone has their own experience. That’s why we are here, to go through our experience, to learn, to go down those paths and eventually you may have gone down so many paths and learned so much that you don’t have to come back again.” I think this was from a 1996 interview and featured on NME. I don’t know if I will ever reach a place where I have learned so much that I don’t need to go down that particular path of learning. I do know that this quote reminds me that everyone is different and unique. We each have our accomplishments, our successes, our goals, and things that make us who we are. I can say that there is nothing in my past that I would change, as it would change who I am today and I like myself very much.

 

Which quote is your favorite and/or are there others you would add?

 

Have a fabulous Friday.

 

Kind regards,

Priscilla

Leave a Reply

