“No matter how much work a man can do, no matter how engaging his personality may be, he will not advance far in business if he cannot work through others.” – John Craig

Positive Quote: “No matter how much work a man can do, no matter how engaging his personality may be, he will not advance far in business if he cannot work through others.” – John Craig

 

There are many skills a leader must have to be successful. Some of the most important are the ability to work through others, delegate, and be able to influence without direct authority. These can be difficult, as it also, for many people, equates to the direct loss of control. Being able to succeed in these key areas can help a leader in many ways; team goals can be reached, deadlines can be met, and success will occur.

 

There are many books out there that talk about ways to improve in these areas. For me, I have found the best method to be authenticity. If I need to delegate something, I take the time to explain, why is it important, what is the deadline, how is it helping the overall success of the team or the company. I also then schedule touch points on progress, are there any hurdles, etc… I can’t just ‘dump and run’. Even though I have delegated, I am ultimately still responsible.

 

Even more difficult is finding the balance between delegation and requests for assistance when you don’t directly manage people. That is where the influence without authority comes into play. To me there is not a one size fits all approach. It depends on the relationships you have built, the perception others may have of you, and the level of trust that exists.

 

For me, I focus on the awareness that alone I can accomplish much, much less than if I were to work with and through others. Each person has a talent and expertise that should be leveraged to the best of their abilities.

 

What do you think of this quote?

 

Have a marvelous Monday.

 

Priscilla

 

Leave a Reply

