“A man should never be ashamed to own he has been in the wrong, which is but saying in other words, that he is wiser today than he was yesterday.” – Alexander Pope

Positive Quote: “A man should never be ashamed to own he has been in the wrong, which is but saying in other words, that he is wiser today than he was yesterday.” – Alexander Pope

 

I have found that there are many reasons a person will admit to being wrong. There is fear, remorse, being caught in the wrong, avoiding an argument, wanting to end a conversation, and many others.

 

I like this quote, yet I do believe there are contexts not quite covered. To me, if a person admits they are wrong does not necessarily mean they are wiser. To me, it depends on why they admitted they were wrong. The reason behind the admission is more telling as to if a person grew wiser from the event.

 

I believe that when you admit to being wrong, you also have to think about how you would handle similar situations in the future, along the lines of a what would you do differently approach. If you say to yourself you would do it the same way, then do you really feel like you are wrong?

 

It is difficult to know what is in one’s hearts and minds. We tend to have to take people at face value and look for confirmation in their actions. Trust, once shattered is difficult to rebuild.

 

For some reason, I have this topic on my mind lately. I think I need more time to mull it over.

 

What do you think of this quote?

 

Have a marvelous Wednesday.

 

Priscilla

 

Leave a Reply

