Are you the best you?

Positive Quote: “It is never too late to be what you might have been.” – George Elliott

 

How does one know what they might have been? This is a challenging question. When I have people come to me to talk about their career or their desire to learn new things or to try something different, I believe it centers on this quote.

 

Time is relative…

 

  • If you are 55 years old and pick up a paintbrush for the first time to become an artist
  • If you are in your third year of college and want to change your major
  • If you are a manager in an organization and want to step back from leadership
  • If you want to go back to school and get a degree or certification
  • If you want to leave your industry and try something new
  • If you want to sing

 

There are so many things that this could apply to.

 

I have a main question I ask people who come to me with questions like this…. It is …..”What activity or item do you do, that when doing you have a smile on your face and you truly enjoy?”. Then we dig a little for clarity and ultimately, doing what makes you happy, while providing for your responsibilities and obligations is the key to being your best you.

 

While not everyone can quit their job and be a roadie or make it in the music industry, each person can do what makes sense for them in that chapter of their lives. If it is singing, try to get a ‘gig’ at a local venue. If it is painting, find a local class at a library or museum (cheap to free) and try your hand at it.

 

By taking a step towards that path, you can see what you can do and the road is as long or as far as you need it to be.

 

You can take me, for example, I am an introvert by nature. My Myers-Briggs personality indicator is INTJ. I have to be alone to recharge my batteries. Yet, I make an effort to meet people, to try new things, to challenge myself. You could say that my blogging is one of these things, as I am sharing a piece of my soul every time I write something down. Yes, sometimes it is draining mentally or emotionally, yet I want to be the best Priscilla I can be. What is right for me may not be right for others. We each are unique and different and should look within to see what works best for us.

 

I have a goal to not stop learning, to try new things, visit new places…even if it is just the town two towns over. You don’t know what the world has to offer to help you be you until you put yourself out there.

 

What do you think of this quote?

 

Have a great day!

Priscilla

Leave a Reply

