Your future is here

Positive Quote: “The future is already here – it’s just not very evenly distributed.” – William Gibson

 

 

This quote stood out to me, not just for what it says, but for who said it. William Gibson is a pioneer in a science fiction genre called steampunk. I can remember the first time I was introduced to it, about 7 years ago. The integration of technology to humans seemed elegant to me. While, I have not been drawn into the books as much as the outward display, I am a fan in a sense.

 

Most science fiction has a bend towards a future, sometimes very different than the time we live in today. I won’t get into the fantasy, science fiction debate.

 

Back to the quote, the future is already here, I take that to mean that the future is not written in stone, we are able to make it what it is by the decisions we make and the choices we take. As for the not being evenly distributed, I would tend to agree. There is a difference in being passive versus engaged in driving your future. This could be something as simple as setting a goal to read 2-3 books a month on a subject that interests you to setting a goal and working towards it.

 

This quote has me wondering, what my future looks like. I believe I can realistically say that it looks much different than my childhood. While I would not go back to change anything in my past, as it made me who I am today, I can look back and be thankful that I am where I am in life. We all have our hurdles, our challenges, and our trying times. Yet, we also have the ability to help create our path around, out, or through things.

 

What do you think of this quote?

 

Have a great day.

Priscilla

 

Leave a Reply

