“Train people well enough so they can leave. Treat the well enough so they don’t want to.” – Richard Branson

Positive Quote: “Train people well enough so they can leave. Treat the well enough so they don’t want to.” – Richard Branson

 

I came across this quote that a friend of mine had shared on social media. I don’t know if Richard Branson really said it, yet I hope he or someone did, as I really like the sentiment.

 

I embrace this quote. I cannot mention enough how important having a positive team is. I believe in creating a foundation where people can be self-motivated. If they are self-motivated, they tend to enjoy their job more and grow without leaving the company. They may leave the role after a time, yet stay with a company whose culture helps cultivate growth.

 

This reminds me of one of my favorite books by Daniel Pink ‘Drive’ which focuses on motivation and intrinsic motivation is a topic covered in detail.

 

At work, when I have performance conversations with my direct reports, we discuss their career. Do they have aspirations of working in a different area, developing a new skill, etc… then we look for ways to attain that goal, as possible. Knowledge should be something shared.

 

As you can tell, this quote not only resonates, yet has me looking for ways to continue to ensure the foundation for growth and development is there.

 

What do you think of this quote?

 

Have a great day,

Priscilla

 

Leave a Reply

