“Become the kind of leader that people would follow voluntarily; even if you had no title or position.” – Brian Tracy

Image

Positive Quote: “Become the kind of leader that people would follow voluntarily; even if you had no title or position.” – Brian Tracy

 

A leader and a manager (supervisor) are not always inclusive of each other. Sometimes, as managers, we need to stop and remind ourselves that people don’t have to follow us, that the job title does not make one a leader. People will find a way to show you whether they view you as a leader or not by their actions or inactions as the case may be.

 

This brings to mind a person I was interviewing for an entry level manager position at a prior company and one of the standard questions I asked was “What is it about this specific role (position) that made you apply for it?” and the answer I received from this person was along the lines of “I want to be able to tell people what to do and they would have to listen”……. I kid you not, this person really answered this way. Needless to say, they did not get the position.

 

I have to remind myself each day that people don’t have to follow me, heck they don’t even have to listen to me… but…. I have a responsibility to be a good leader and lead people all while managing the tasks (workload). This takes time, effort, and is not always the most glamorous parts of the job. I have to hold people accountable while holding myself accountable. It is a juggling act.

 

What do you think about this quote?

 

Have a great day!

Priscilla

Leave a comment